Is 1664 vegan?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is 1664 vegan?” and will discuss vegan beer options available in the market.

Is 1664 vegan?

No, Kronenbourg 1664 is not vegan. Despite this, the Kronenbourg website is fairly forthright about it. Kronenbourg 1664 is not suitable for vegans. There is no explanation on the webpage, but experts assume that it employs isinglass or a similar product to clear the beer.

Kronenbourg 1664

This golden pale lager from Kronenbourg 1664 has an alcohol content of 5.5% in continental Europe and 5% in the UK. Canon Brewery in France’s Alsace area was initially produced in 1664 by master brewer Geronimus Hatt.

Breweries for Kronenbourg may be found in Europe and Australia. Its Manchester-based UK brewery received a £50 million investment to upgrade its infrastructure and production capabilities. Although Kronenbourg is produced by Heineken International in the UK, Carlsberg officially owns and controls the brand there.

As well as draught, Kronenbourg is available in a variety of cans and bottles, including 275ml bottles and 660ml bottles.

Is it possible to get a vegan beer?

Quite a few vegan readers may be sitting there terrified as they read this post. Don’t worry, there are plenty of vegan-friendly beers out there. Unfortunately, a large number of beers on the market do not conform to the vegan diet. An unexpected twist may be in store for you here. Yeast and water are the primary ingredients in beer. There are no animal products in any of these components at all. They also do not do any harm to animals. Because of Germany’s “Purity Laws,” which limit the beer to just having these four components, vegans in Germany should have no trouble purchasing vegan-friendly brews.

There are no such purity regulations in nations like Ireland, the United Kingdom, or the United States. It’s entirely up to you whether or not you think this is a good thing. While I appreciate that German beer must adhere to such strict regulations, I must acknowledge that this deters some of the better examples. As the growth of craft breweries has shown, purity regulations are counterproductive. As there are so many different types of beers on the market, it makes sense to broaden the definition of beer.

Beers in various nations might contain more ingredients than in the United States, thus there is a greater risk that they will not be vegan friendly. Clearing agents are the most common culprit. Ingredients that aid in the brew’s clarity are included in this list. Cask-conditioned ales have used clearing agents for a very long time, and the practice is widespread. Don’t think of this as a novel and clever technique. In British (and Irish) beer, it’s a long-standing tradition. This means that all cask-conditioned beer is hazy without clarifying chemicals.

What Other Beers Are Comparable to Kronenburg?

A French Pale Lager, Kronenbourg 1664, is one among the rarer varieties. Belgian beers such as Jupiler and Stella Artois are readily available nearby. Amstel, Heineken, Grolsch, or Bavaria are some of the Dutch brews you may choose from, as well.

Further out in Germany, you’ll find the likes of Becks, Holstein Pilsner, Flensburger, Bitburger, Rothaus, and a slew of more options. Other options include Carlsberg, Tuborg, and FAXE from Denmark.

There are great Vienna lagers made in Mexico, even though they are rather pale. For more information, see my page on Mexican beer. German beers, like those served at Oktoberfest, are another good option. They are a nice change of pace from your typical Pilsner.

The greatest pilsners in the world are often referred to as Czech pilsners. To begin with, Pilsner Urquell was the beer of choice. Staropramen, Praha, Budvar, and Kozel are just a few of the other options. Each one is a work of art in the pilsner brewing genre.

My point is that Kronenbourg 1664 is a great beer, but there are many more fascinating options out there. Drinking the same three or four beers for the rest of your life is a bad idea.

Which Vegan Beer Is This?

Fortunately, there are several vegan beers on the market. Almost all German beers should be vegan, as I said previously. Most of the major Belgian brewers have filtering procedures to ensure that their beers are clear. In addition, the website Barnivore provides a comprehensive list of all beers. Providing you with a list of vegan beers and those that aren’t. There are 49,190 beers in this database at the time of this writing! 

Many brewers have begun to remove all animal components from their beers because of the growing demand for vegan beverages. Craft beers should be devoid of this, and even traditional English brewers are considering vegan options. Check out the Barnivore website I suggested when you’re in the mood for a beer. Avoid a terrible surprise by using it!

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is 1664 vegan?” and discussed vegan beer options available in the market.

References

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1664_(beer)

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.