Why is gelatin haram?

In this brief guide, we will answer the question, “why is gelatin haram,” and discuss what are the reasons why it is impermissible to use gelatin in foods and medicine, and what are the sources of gelatin.

Why is gelatin haram?

The gelatin is haram because of the following reasons:

Gelatin is considered haram (forbidden) because of the process that it goes through to be made into its final form. To make gelatin, animal parts are boiled down in the water and then dried out. However, some of the original forms of the animal parts remain in the final product. This means that gelatin is technically an item that has been made from pieces of animals’ bodies.

Gelatin is made by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones of animals, usually cows or pigs. This makes it haram (forbidden) in Islam because one cannot be sure that the animal was slaughtered according to Islamic law.

Muslims consider the consumption of pork to be haram, or forbidden, so this also makes gelatin haram.

What is animal gelatin?

Animal gelatin is a protein that comes from the collagen found in animals’ skin, bones, and connective tissues.

Animal gelatin is created by boiling these parts of animals, which breaks down their collagen into amino acids. The resulting liquid or dry product that results is then used as a thickening agent in foods such as candy, marshmallows, and gummy bears.

Are all gelatin haram?

Yes, all types of gelatin are haram.

The question of whether or not all gelatin is halal for Muslims to consume has been a longstanding one. One reason for this is that there are different types of gelatin, and the method of animal sacrifice used in production may vary from one type to another.

The main concern with gelatin is that it consists mostly of collagen, which is obtained from the bones and connective tissues of animals like cows, pigs, and fish, who may have been butchered in a way that doesn’t comply with the Islamic law of animal sacrifice.

For that reason, many Muslim scholars consider all types of gelatin haram. 

What can be the possible halal alternatives to gelatin?

If you’re looking for a gelatin substitute, there are several options available to you, depending on your needs:

  • Xanthan gum
  • Yogurt
  • Coconut milk
  • Cream
  • Corn starch

Xanthan gum is an excellent choice for high-heat applications since it has a higher melting point than gelatin. It also works well in many recipes, even involving canned fruits, where gelatin is not recommended. Another option is yogurt. Yogurt can be used as a thickener and as a gel, and it has a similar mouthfeel to that of gelatin.

Coconut milk or cream also has some similar qualities to gelatin, though they will add more fat to your recipes. Finally, corn starch can be used in conjunction with water to create the same gelling properties as gelatin.

What are the reasons why it is impermissible to use gelatin in foods and medicine?

The use of gelatin in food and medicine has been prohibited for the following reasons:

  1. Gelatin is not easily digested. It can only be digested by certain animals like cows, pigs, fish, and chickens. Humans are unable to digest it.
  1. Long-term consumption of gelatin may lead to digestive problems and may even cause cancer.
  1. Gelatin is made from animal skin, bone, and tendons which are haram (forbidden) for consumption by Muslims because it is an impure substance used for a purpose that is not allowed in Islam.

What are the sources of gelatin?

The sources of gelatin include pig skin, cow bones, fish scales, and other animal by-products.

When gelatin is derived from animals, the source is typically skin and bones. Pigskin and bones are used to produce gelatin for use in gummies, marshmallows, and other sweets. Beef bones, chicken skins, and pig bladders are also often used to produce gelatin.

The most common animal sources of gelatin are pigskin (from the hide), pork bones, cattle bones, chicken skeletons, and pig’s feet. Pigskin produces the highest quality gelatin; therefore it is the most expensive. Cattle bone is a good alternative to the pigskin for producing low-cost gelatin for use in jellies, desserts, and puddings.

What are the disadvantages of gelatin?

Disadvantages of Gelatin:

Gelatin is not a good source of protein for vegetarians, as it is made from animal byproducts. It has little nutritional value and becomes hard to digest when cooked.

There are several health risks associated with consuming gelatin, including the risk of allergic reactions, upset stomach, and obesity.

The biggest disadvantage of gelatin is that it’s made from animal byproducts. This can cause some people to be uncomfortable with purchasing gelatin, since they may feel as though they are supporting the slaughter and/or exploitation of animals.

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we have addressed the question, “why is gelatin haram,” and other questions related to the subject, such as what are the reasons why it is impermissible to use gelatin in foods and medicine, and what are the sources of gelatin.

Citations

https://islamqa.info/en/answers/219137/is-gelatin-halal
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6072727/

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.