Is Worcestershire a veggie sauce?

In this blog post, we will answer the following question: Is Worcestershire a veggie sauce? We will also teach you how to make gluten-free and vegan Worcestershire sauce.

Is Worcestershire a veggie sauce?

Worcestershire is not a veggie sauce, it contains anchovies, vinegar, onion, molasses, cloves, chili extract, high fructose corn syrup, garlic, and tamarind, which gives the sauce a distinctive aroma.

Do you want to know how to make gluten-free, vegan and homemade Worcestershire sauce? Then I’m going to show you a substitute recipe for this Worcestershire sauce that many people know as Perrins sauce because of the original brand, called Lea & Perrins. This brand was the first to market it back in the 19th century, although the original Worcestershire sauce is not vegan, since it contains, for example, anchovies.

Vegan Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce Ingredients

Let’s take a look at the ingredients in our Worcestershire sauce, which are gluten-free and vegan.

Apple cider vinegar: adds a healthy touch to the vinegar we need.

Tamari – We use this ingredient to make our gluten-free Worcester sauce. In the event that you do not mind whether or not it contains gluten, you can use soy sauce.

Coconut sugar: we can use another sweetener without problem, but if we want it to be a healthier recipe, coconut sugar is the best option.

Garlic powder.

Onion powder.

Ground ginger.

Ground cloves: it will give us a lot of flavor.

Mustard: Ideally, use ground mustard seeds or dry mustard. However, as I did not have it at the time of the recipe, I added mustard sauce.

Tamarind paste: it is optional, although it will also contribute to flavor.

Ground black pepper: to taste, although it gives it a very appetizing spicy touch.

Find many of the ingredients you need for your Worcestershire sauce at Ecovegalia, our organic vegan supermarket.

How to make homemade gluten-free and vegan Worcestershire sauce

It is too simple. Although below I show you the details and the photos, you just have to mix all the ingredients in a blender and beat. For this process, I think there is nothing better than a mini mixer, which is great for preparing sauces and dressings.

You will have a foamy sauce, but when you let it rest a little, the classic black color of Worcestershire sauce will return and we will have it ready for our preparations.

Worcestershire sauce has a multitude of uses, as many as the imagination allows. Of course, it is usually widely used when grilling or grilling, or even fried. For vegans it is a good way to marinate the tofu and give it a good flavor. It can also be fried with Worcester sauce, or it can even be used to dress salads or flavor other preparations.

But I do not extend myself further, with what I leave you with the recipe, quantities, etc. What do you think about this way of making vegan and gluten-free Worcestershire sauce? Do you have another way to prepare it? Tell me below.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup Tamari or soy sauce if you want it with gluten

1 tbsp coconut sugar

1/4 tsp Garlic powder

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp Onion powder

1/5 cta Ground cloves

1/4 tsp Mustard or ground mustard seeds or dry mustard

1/5 tsp freshly ground black pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

We put all the ingredients in a blender.

We beat until everything is well mixed. It will appear sparkling at first, although it will later revert to black.

We will have it ready to serve in our favorite preparations, marinades, roast, etc.

What dishes to garnish Worcestershire Sauce

A complex bouquet of ingredients allows Worcestershire sauce to blend perfectly with a variety of foods. The seasoning is most often used for ready-made meat dishes: pork and chicken cutlets, beef tenderloin, kebab, pork chop. 

The sauce is poured over pasta, pancakes, meatballs, casseroles, vegetable stews. Ideal sauce for fish dishes. In combination with them, the sweet and sour taste of English seasoning is perfectly revealed.

Caesar salad and Bloody Mary booze aren’t complete without Worcestershire sauce, either. It is the most important ingredient in these dishes, making them especially tasty and flavorful.  

Conclusions

Worcestershire sauce is a fermented liquid sauce that is used to enhance the flavor of other sauces, such as pink sauce, or to dress different dishes, raw or cooked, among which beef and Caesar salad stand out. It is also a fundamental ingredient in some cocktails, for example, Bloody Mary.

Many imitations of the original are distributed around the world including different ingredients such as soybeans, but the authentic Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is the only recipient of the Royal Order of His British Majesty, an award considered a symbol of excellence and quality. 

Try our simple recipe for vegan  Worcestershire sauce if you do not want to miss out on this yumminess! 

If you have any questions or comments on the content, please let us know.

References

Bonappetit.com 

Thestonesoup.com 

Tastessence.com 

Avatar

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *