Is Stork Dairy Free? (Your Guide to Stork)

In this brief guide, we will look at the question “Is Stork Dairy free”, as well as other details about Stork. We will also look at the uses of Stork vs other types of baking essentials.

Is Stork Dairy Free?

Yes, Stork is dairy free, and it can be eaten by anyone who is Lactose intolerant or vegan, as it contains only vegetable substitutes.

Stork is a type of margarine, meaning it has no dairy content like milk solids or milk derivatives like buttermilk or cream.

Additionally, stork is not only dairy free, it is also nut free, which means even someone with a nut allergy can have it, but most labels will tell you to not take that risk because sometimes these things can be mass produced in factories where there are other types of productions as well.

If you have an allergy of some kind the right thing to do is always to make sure you are careful about reading the labels on the products.

There are also some people who say that most types of Block Margarines, like Stork, are usually dairy free and are therefore usable for lactose intolerant people as well as vegans.

Butter or Stork: Which makes a Better Sponge?

Everyone knows Butter is essential for a better sponge, but there are many who can’t eat butter and for those people stork can be a good alternative, and you can always add a few secret ingredients of your own to make the sponge even better with Stork.

For instance, if you are looking to make an extremely airy and fluffy sponge with a good ratio of bubbles throughout it, you can try taking a pinch of baking soda (yes, the type you used for volcanoes in school) and sprinkle it on to your batter.

After that, take about a teaspoon full of vinegar and pour it over the soda, and the minute they react mix it through your batter. 

The ratios of baking soda to vinegar will stay the same and you should put these amounts for about 500 gms of batter, and you can double it (2 pinches and 2 teaspoons of soda and vinegar respectively) as your batter volume doubles.

However, when the choice is between butter and stork, some experiments with blind tastings have shown that when people don’t know what they are eating, they tend to pick cakes backed with butter over Stork or other vegetable fat products.

Despite these results though, you need to know that these tests use very few ingredients and just the basic cake recipe that calls for flour, sugar, eggs and fat, but if you can figure out what else you can add to your sponge its taste will definitely be phenomenal regardless of whether you use butter or stork.

Is Stork Vegan?

Yes, Stork is vegan! The makers of stork have claimed for the longest time that lactose free individuals as well as vegans can eat it, and it makes for a great baking substitute for people who don’t want to eat any animal based product.

If you are a vegan for health reasons as much as because of animal welfare, you might also be interested to know that Stork contains 63% less fat than the dairy based alternatives, which means that Stork gives you a great motive to go vegan too.

You can find amazing baking recipes for stork at the website BakewithStork.

Stork Ingredients

Here is a complete list of Stork ingredients:

  • Vegetable Oils in varying proportions (75%) (Rapeseed, Palm1, Sunflower)
  • Water
  • Salt (1.4%)
  • Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids)
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Vitamin A and D
  • Flavourings
  • Sustainable Palm Oil

Lactose and Dairy Free Alternatives for Baking

There are many Lactose and dairy free alternatives for baking, like Stork and other types of margarine like Tesco, and vegetable oils that are not too intensely flavored.

If you are lactose intolerant though you need to make sure that you are buying the hard stork, because the softer versions seem to contain some dairy, which may be okay for people who don’t want to eat it on principle, but it will cause significant health problems for you.

Also, if you don’t have access to stork where you are, you can always use oil in your baking, especially if you are baking a basic sponge.

In fact, you will find that chocolate cakes baked with vegetable oil actually make for some of the best you will ever eat, just make sure that you reduce the quantity of fat if you are using oil, as it tends to become heavy if you use as much as butter.

Is Margarine Dairy Free and Vegan?

Yes, margarine, at least the hard ones, is dairy free and vegan, and it can be used very well to make cookies, cakes and pastries.

Margarine is made from vegetable oils, which means that it is completely plant based, and therefore it is perfect for lactose intolerant people as well as vegans. Also, if you are a fan of rough puff pastries or puff pastry in general, you will find margarine makes far more superior layers than normal butter, and it’s far easier to work with as well!

Conclusion

Stork is a great option if you want to live a healthier lifestyle or you are against animal cruelty and want to switch to a food option that does not involve animal byproducts.

Just make sure that you don’t use too much stork in whatever you are baking, because any product made from vegetable oils can be rather strong, and it can give you a slightly waxy texture in the final product, which can be off putting.

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *