Is in and out vegetarian?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is in and out vegetarian?” and will discuss vegetarian options available in and out.

Is in and out vegetarian?

No, In-N-Out is not vegetarian. The demand for vegan burgers at In-N-Out has been great for many years, but the chain does not currently provide them. There have also been various rallies and petitions, including one from PETA, requesting a vegan burger at In-N-Out.

What is In-N-Out?

Founded in 1965, Throughout-N-Out Burger is an American fast-food business that operates in the Southwest and along the Pacific Coast of the United States. Famous for its burgers, fries, and milkshakes, as well as their “secret menu,” they have a cult following. Currently, In-N-Out has 349 locations in the United States, with four more expected to open in the next several months. All the vegan alternatives at In-N-Out Burger locations in 2021 have been included in this article.

There are no ingredients stated on the menu items or hidden menu items, however, there is an Allergen Guide on their website. The allergy guide and other vegan resources were used to compile all of the information on this page.

In-N-Out products

There are three burger options at In-N-Out: hamburger, cheeseburger, and a “Double-Double” (a double serving) (two hamburger patties and two slices of cheese). Also on the menu are French fries, fountain drinks, and three varieties of milkshakes. The burgers are served with lettuce, tomato, and an optional “spread” sauce, as well as a choice of fresh or grilled onions, which the client specifies when placing their order (a Thousand Island dressing variant).

The menu at every In-N-Out, however, does not include extra listed products. The chain’s “secret menu” has several changes, even though the menu can be seen on the company’s official website. In addition to the standard burgers, there are 3×3, 4×4, Neapolitan shakes, grilled cheese sandwiches, Protein Style (wrapped in lettuce; the same ingredients as the burgers except for buns), and Animal Style (cooked in a thin layer of mustard, adding condiments including pickles, grilled onions, and extra spread). Two pieces of melted cheese, a spread, and grilled onions are atop the Animal Style fries. If you want, you may get whole or chopped chili peppers upon request. The firm has trademarked its house specialties, Protein and Animal Style, for their connection to the chain.

When ordering a burger at In-N-Out, customers might add extra patties and slices of cheese for an additional fee. In 2004, a 100×100 (100 patties, 100 pieces of cheese) event was widely publicized. At first, management at In-N-Out didn’t allow anything bigger than a 4×4. The “Flying Dutchman” is a combination of two beef patties and two slices of cheese that may be ordered on its own (no bun, condiments, or vegetables).

In-N-hot Out’s chocolate with marshmallows was reintroduced to the menu for the first time in more than a decade in January 2018. Since the 1950s, it has featured on the menu at restaurants, but this isn’t the first time it has done so. Ghirardelli Chocolate Company provides the cocoa powder. 

Vegetarian option at In-N-Out

French fries

In-N-French Out’s Fries are the chain’s first vegan option! In-N-fries Outs are made with “fresh, hand-cut potatoes” and “100 percent sunflower oil,” according to its menu. To our knowledge, no other In-N-Out foods are fried, thus cross-contamination shouldn’t be a problem for customers. In-N-fries Out’s may be requested “well done” or “light well” if you want crispy fries. Crispier than the regular fries are both variants.

The sauces

Unfortunately, the world-famous spread at In-N-Out Burger is not vegan friendly since it is made with mayonnaise and includes eggs. In-N-Out Burger’s ketchup and mustard are the only vegan-friendly condiments for fries.

“Veggie Burger” (No Spread)

In-N-“Veggie Out’s Burger” comes next on the list. This sandwich is not a burger at all, despite the name. Toasted bread, lettuce, tomato, and fresh onion make up the sandwich, which is otherwise topped with In-N-Out spread. Remove the spread and add ketchup and mustard to make it vegan.

It is possible to jazz up this sandwich a little by adding some additional ingredients. The following are among them:

A fresh take on onions: There are four varieties of onions available at In-N-Out. Sliced (default), raw chopped (grilled), and whole-grilled onions are all included in this category. There’s no limit to the number of entries you may make.

Add Yellow Chilies: To give your Veggie Burger a little kick, add whole, chopped, or a side of Yellow Chilies.

Toasted Buns: Double or Non-Toasted In-N-Out buns aren’t quite toasty enough for your liking? If you like a spongier texture, ask for it to be Double Toasted. If you’re a vegetarian, In-N-Out provides a “Grilled Cheese” option that includes two slices of melted American cheese on top of their Veggie Burger.


Except for their vegan fries and “veggie burger,” most soft drinks on offer at In-N-Out Burger are vegan-friendly. Lemonades and Coke products are available In-N-Out.

Other FAQs about Vegetarian that you may be interested in.

Is humectant 422 vegetarian?

Can a vegetarian get sick after eating meat?

Is emulsifier 442 vegetarian?

Is indomie vegetarian?


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is in and out vegetarian?” and discussed vegetarian options available in and out.