Is Guinness 0.0 vegan?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is Guinness 0.0 vegan?” and will discuss how Guinness becomes vegan?

Is Guinness 0.0 vegan?

Yes, Guinness 0.0 is vegan. It’s safe to drink Guinness 0.00 as a vegan. In the brewing process, there are no animal products, such as isinglass.

How does Guinness 0.0 become vegan?

There is a problem with many beers because of the way they are fined, or filtered. Many brewers employed animal products as finings to aid in the filtering of their goods to produce a cleaner end product. Isinglass, made from fish swim bladders, was the most widely utilized, although others have been used as well. Manufacturers assumed the public desired a clear, uncloudy beer, thus this helped eliminate yeast and other impurities. Historically, the finings used to clarify beer consisted “of an aqueous suspension of collagen from the swim bladder of fish preserved with sulphur dioxide”. More recently, though, seaweed, gelatin, and silica, amongst others, have been used to clarify beer. The process of fining beer improves the clarity by removing organic compounds responsible for the beer´s haze. Studies showed that the addition of finings had no statistically significant effect on taste/ flavor ratings in experiments, and thus finings do not change the perceived taste/ flavor of beer. People did, however, prefer the ‘appearance’ of the beer that had been treated with finings (1).

Automated filtration

Since the rise of veganism in recent years, several brewers have taken steps to ensure that their beers are suitable for vegans. However, many of the more popular mass-market brewers, like Heineken and Stella Artois, prefer to utilize mechanical filtering rather than leave their beers unfined.

In the beginning, there was considerable opposition to the idea of using mechanical techniques to filter the beer since they were considered to affect its flavor, texture, or character. It has been demonstrated that contemporary mechanical filtering processes don’t change beer in the slightest, thus Guinness began using them all over the world a few years ago.

In a statement, Guinness confirmed that all of its beers are 100% vegan.

In response to the question, “Is Guinness vegan?” They say, “Yes.” Guinness Draught may now be enjoyed by vegans since our new state-of-the-art filtering technology has eliminated the use of isinglass as a way of filtration.

They go on to discuss the various Guinness beers: Due to our improved filtering technology, Guinness Original, Extra Stout, and Foreign Extra Stout are now vegan-friendly.

Filtration using membrane filters is currently state-of-the-art technology for a number of brewery technological steps, the most important being water treatment, sterile filtration or beer dealcoholization using microfiltration, ultrafiltration, reverse osmosis, pervaporation and gas separation. Filtration membrane modules are constructed in many ways and there is also a variety of materials from which they are made. The least-used ceramic filter modules, used primarily in Japan, provide a high level of beer sterility but are very sensitive to pressure shocks. The most widely used are candles with a plastic support on a cylindrical construction, which are made of various materials such as polypropylene, PES, nylon and others. Their most common use is sterile filtration of beer replacing pasteurization. In breweries, we can also encounter so-called „trap“ filters, which are mostly large-area candles (2).

Global consumption of Guinness has reached 1.8 billion pints because of the popularity of Guinness in West Africa (Nigeria and Cameroon are two of the most popular nations). All 1.8 billion brews, draught or bottle or can, are vegan, regardless of where they were purchased.

Guinness origin and history

St. James’ Gate, Dublin, Ireland’s Arthur Guinness Brewery was the source of Guinness’s first batch of dry stout in 1759. It is one of the world’s most popular alcoholic beverage brands, brewed in nearly 50 countries and sold in more than 120. In 2011, the company sold 850 million liters of their product (190,000,000 imp gal). Despite a decline in usage since 2001, Guinness & Co. Brewery produces about €2 billion worth of beer yearly in Ireland. attraction. Over 20 million people have visited since it opened in 2000.

In the mid-20th century, malted barley and roasted unmalted barley became part of Guinness’s grist, a relatively new phenomenon. Brewers have long used aged brew in their new batches to impart a distinct lactic acid flavor. Even though Guinness still has a distinct “tang,” the company has refused to say if this type of blending is still used in the product. Nitrogen and carbon dioxide are used to create the draught beer’s rich, creamy head.

In 1932, the Anglo-Irish Trade War began, and the corporation relocated its headquarters to London. When Guinness and Grand Metropolitan combined in 1997, they became Diageo plc, a global alcohol company located in London.

 Guinness composition

It is created with water, barley, roast malt extract, hops, and brewster’s yeast. Guinness A part of the barley is roasted to give Guinness its distinctive black color and flavor. Filtered and pasteurized.

Guinness was still stored in oak barrels until the late 1950s. Cask-conditioned Guinness ended production in the late 1950s and early 1960s when Guinness began producing beers in aluminum kegs instead of oak barrels. Guinness, like many other beers, was produced using isinglass derived from fish until 2016. Fining agent: Isinglass was employed in the vat to remove suspended particles.

Even if just trace amounts of isinglass were transferred to the beer, it was still feasible that the beer would taste a little different because of it. When Diageo revealed in February 2018 that isinglass will be replaced with an alternate clarifying agent in Guinness draught, many people were surprised. Vegans and vegetarians may now enjoy draught Guinness.

Health benefits of Guinness

Guinness has been shown to improve cardiovascular health, according to research. This is because Guinness has “‘antioxidant chemicals’ like those found in some fruits and vegetables, which are responsible for the health advantages since they slow down the buildup of bad cholesterol on the artery walls,” according to researchers.

During the 1920s, Guinness executed a successful advertising campaign based on market research, which resulted in the tagline “Guinness is Good for You” being coined by Dorothy L. Sayers. Ads promoting alcoholic beverages that claim to boost physical performance or enhance one’s personality are currently banned in Ireland. “We never make any medicinal claims for our products,” says Diageo, the corporation that currently makes Guinness.  

In fact, moderate alcohol consumption has been associated with several health benefits. Alcohol consumption in moderation (1–2 drinks/day) is associated with positive effects against a number of cardiovascular risk factors including an increase in high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol, reduced fibrinogen levels, and reduced platelet aggregation, which have all been attributed to the ethanol and polyphenol content of alcoholic beverages. In addition, beer has been associated with a lower risk of ischemic stroke when 1 to 6 servings of beer/wk was consumed. Furthermore, a recent 12-wk prospective study with overweight individuals has shown that moderate consumption of traditional and nonalcoholic beer did not affect lipid levels, but significantly increased the antioxidant capacity of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) (3).

Other FAQs about Vegans that you may be interested in.

Is there vegan wine?

Is it vegan to ride horses?

Is it vegan to own pets?

Is a vegan diet healthy?


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is Guinness 0.0 vegan?” and discussed how Guinness becomes vegan?


  1. Van Doorn, George, et al. The visual appearance of beer: A review concerning visually-determined expectations and their consequences for perception. Food Res Int, 2019, 126, 108661.
  2. Slabý, Martin, Karel Štěrba, and Jana Olšovská. Filtration of Beer–A Review. Kvasny Prumysl, 2018, 64, 173-184.
  3. Lordan, Ronan, et al. The in vitro antithrombotic properties of ale, lager, and stout beers. Food biosci, 2019, 28, 83-88.