Is e-liquid vegan?
In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is e-liquid vegan?” and will discuss the composition of e liquids.
Is e-liquid vegan?
Yes, e-liquid is vegan. Vegetable Glycerin and Propylene Glycol are the two most common bases for e-liquids. Because VG is manufactured from plant oils like palm or coconut, it is vegan-friendly. PG, on the other hand, is made up of petroleum-derived chemicals. Petroleum isn’t made of anything animal-related, that’s why e-liquid is vegan-friendly.
According to research, e-cigarettes are the most commonly used tobacco product among adolescents; recent estimates suggest that 20.8% of high school students have used e-cigarettes (i.e., “vaped”) (5).
Materials used in the production of e-liquids
Flavor, color, nicotine, glycerin or glycol, and other components are utilized in the production of e-liquids. If you choose a fully organic product, you can be confident that all of the ingredients are natural. If you don’t mind a little extra taste or sweetness, you can go for the ones with added flavor or sweetener.
In a study, over 16,839 e-liquids were analyzed. The results showed that on average, 63% of the total number of ingredients within one e-liquid were flavorings. The median concentration of total flavorings per e-liquid was 28.0 mg/10 mL. Ingredients other than flavoring ingredients were glycerol, nicotine, propylene glycol, water, ethanol and triacetin. These compounds were present in, respectively, 94%, 88%, 86%, 45%, 23% and 15% of all e-liquids. Twenty-five flavoring ingredients were added to more than 10% of the overall sample of e-liquids. The most frequently used flavorings were vanillin (present in 35.2% of the total set), ethyl maltol (32.0%) and ethyl butyrate (28.4%) (1).
If you are a vegan, avoid purchasing any products that include animal-based components such as castoreum. You should know what you’re buying before investing your money. Knowing all of the packaging labels is critical for your safety. Before purchasing any product, you must consider all factors.
Facts to Ponder
Take a look at some of the fascinating facts regarding e-liquid.
- Animal leftovers are not used in the creation of e-liquids.
- Vaping devices holding e-liquid come in a variety of tastes. It might be traditional, natural, and made up of plants, vegetables, and fruits. Everyone can safely ingest such flavors.
- Many individuals believe that flavors like custard, cake, and other desserts contain dairy products. However, this is wrong. There are a variety of compounds that can be used to flavor liquids. Dairy items such as milk, butter, vanilla essence, and so on are not used.
- A base is used to make e-liquids. Propylene Glycol (PG), Vegetable Glycerin (VG), or a combination of the two can be used. If we go into more detail, Vegetable Glycerin is made out of plant oils such as coconut.
- It is unquestionably vegan-friendly and ideal for vegan candidates. Propylene glycol, on the other hand, is composed out of organic components collected from petroleum. It isn’t made using animal-derived substances.
- E-liquids are primarily made up of water. It comes in distilled form, which is ideal for vegans.
- Nicotine is present in the E-liquid. It’s also vegan because it’s made using plant-based ingredients like potatoes and green pepper.
- Artificial flavors are used in e-liquids, which have been thoroughly tested on a variety of animals. However, this does not imply that it contains any non-vegan ingredients. It has a pleasant odor due to the presence of chemicals.
Are E-liquid Colors Vegan?
The justification for colorant addition to e-liquids in the same proportions relative to foodstuffs is likely to promote a vaper’s identification of e-cigarette flavoring additives with corresponding foods. Color has been shown to influence food sensory characteristics and the appeal of products due to the learned associations of particular colors with foodstuffs (3).
Vape liquids are typically non-vegan in hue. Beetles are responsible for the red and pink colors. Many people believe that these hues are natural, yet they are created of chemicals or animal products.
Besides, in a study, the colorants present in commercial e-liquids were isolated and compared with artificial dyes commonly used in the food industry. Comparison of the HPLC chromatograms of the dye standards with the samples under investigation, confirmed by spiking with standards, revealed the presence of Allura Red AC in the red e-liquids, Brilliant nBlue FCF in the blue e-liquids and the pair Tartrazine and Brilliant Blue FCF in the green e-liquid. Therefore, most of the colorants used in e-liquids were synthetic and approved by the FDA, which are tested in animal trials (3).
A pleasing hue increases a person’s desire to purchase vaping products. It can also provide a nicer odor, which is far superior to smoking regular cigarettes.
The primary goal of the flavoring industry is to improve the taste of liquids so that more people will buy vaping devices. If you’re thinking about buying something like this, be sure it’s vegan. To learn more, you can contact the manufacturer or read the labeling.
Is it Vegan to Smoke E-Cigarettes?
For vaping, e-liquid is used in e-cigarettes. The use of this technology has grown in popularity in recent years. Many people who want to give up smoking are turning to this method. There is no risk of non-vegan vaping if the substances you use are natural.
Make certain that the flavor, color, and components are all organic. Not all ingredients must be thoroughly evaluated on animals. Many businesses offer both natural and synthetic items. You must be certain that you are looking for the proper product that meets your requirements.
The main compounds found in e-liquids are flavorings. The conventional routes of chemical synthesis or isolation of aroma compounds from plants are still viable, but the biotechnological generation is becoming increasingly attractive because of the increasing demand for natural flavors compounds produced via biotechnological ways. These bioprocesses are based on microorganisms (bacteria, fungi, yeasts) and their enzymes. The principle of this technology consisted of the use of renewable resources, clean production, less pollution and less energy intensive processes in biological systems, such as whole cells or enzymes, used as reagents or catalysts. Several microorganisms have been selected in recent years for the development of flavors via biotechnological processes (2).
In terms of health, personality, and other factors, switching to vape devices from tobacco cigarettes is beneficial. You may obtain a nice product at a high price, but if you’re seeking natural products, it’s OK. There is always a choice, and you should seek it out.
Is There a Vegan Alternative?
Vegan-friendly e-liquids are in high demand, yet obtaining such a product is difficult. Numerous vaping firms are involved in the production of these liquids. These businesses provide cruelty-free options that everyone prefers.
Organic chemicals are in high demand in the vaping market, according to the report. According to the commercials, if you want to know if you have an organic product, you should examine its consistency. In comparison to the artificial ones, organic ones have a thick viscosity. Polyethylene glycol used in e-liquids is a powerful humectant responsible for a stronger throat hit, as it will dry both mouth and throat if used consistently, leading to allergic reactions mostly caused by the petroleum feedstocks. Bio-based polyethylene glycol can be obtained through the fermentation of corn glucose, being an environmentally sustainable alternative. Furthermore, the use of bio-based polyethylene glycol in tobacco improves moisturization and antimicrobial activity and lower skin irritation effects (4).
When it comes to taste, artificial flavors are sweeter than natural ones. If you’re trying out a vaping device for the first time, you’ll be able to tell the difference between these two options right away. As a result, there are numerous vegan solutions available, but you must select them carefully.
Other FAQs about Vegans that you may be interested in.
In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is e-liquid vegan?” and discussed the composition of e liquids.
Was this helpful?
Krüsemann, Erna JZ, et al. Comprehensive overview of common e-liquid ingredients and how they can be used to predict an e-liquid’s flavour category. Tobacco control, 2021, 30, 185-191.
Akacha, Najla Ben, and Mohamed Gargouri. Microbial and enzymatic technologies used for the production of natural aroma compounds: Synthesis, recovery modeling, and bioprocesses. Food Bioprod Process, 2015, 94, 675-706.
Korzun, Tetiana, et al. Synthetic food dyes in electronic cigarettes. Dyes Pigm, 2019, 160, 509-513.
Berenguer, Cristina, Jorge AM Pereira, and José S. Câmara. Fingerprinting the volatile profile of traditional tobacco and e-cigarettes: A comparative study. Microchem J, 2021, 166, 106196.
Morean, Meghan E., et al. High school students’ use of flavored e-cigarette e-liquids for appetite control and weight loss. Addict behav, 2020, 102, 106139.