Is coke 0 vegan?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is coke 0 vegan?” and will discuss the components of coke 0.

Is coke 0 vegan?

Yes, Coke 0 is vegan. Caramel Color, Aspartame, Potassium Benzoate, Natural Varieties, Potassium Citrate, Acesulfame Potassium, and Caffeine are the components in all Coca-Cola Zero Sugar flavors.

It is important to note that the “Natural Flavors” component, which may originate from either plant or animal sources, is deemed vegan by Coca-Cola Product Facts. All varieties of Coca-Cola Zero Sugar may be consumed by vegans.

Packed non-alcoholic beverages has a significant impact on global economy with a revenue of 1038054 million US $ and average volume of 109.5 L/person in 2020. Volume of this market is expected to grow more by 6.8% annually and anticipated to be 935758.3 million liters by 2025 (6).

Do you know what the ingredients in Coke are?”

In the 1880s, John Stith Pemberton invented coke by combining cocaine and caffeine. In the case of Coca-Cola, it was produced from the coca leaf and the kola (or “cola”) nut. Previously, cocaine was thought to be a medication rather than a drug, but this has changed as our knowledge of the substance has evolved.

The kola nut, an evergreen originally endemic to West Africa, belongs to the Sterculiaceae family having more than 125 species and is locally known as bissy, cola or kola nuts. The cola nut fruit is shaped like a capsule and is comprised of fleshy, irregularly shaped seeds which are pink, red or white when fresh, and become brown and hard once they are dried. The seeds are called nuts because of their bitter and astringent taste. The dried nuts are used as beverages and as pharmaceutical agents in Europe and North America. Bissy has a bitter taste and high caffeine content. Its effects are comparable to other xanthine containing herbs like cocoa and tea; nonetheless, the effects are distinctively different as it produces a stronger state of euphoria and well-being. It is thought to enhance alertness and physical energy, elevate mood, increase tactile sensitivity, and suppress appetite. It may also increase body temperature, blood pressure, and respiratory rate (1).

Coca-Cola’s original syrup contained cocaine till 1903. In its early advertising, Coca-Cola employed a label displaying ‘coca-leaves and kola nuts’. The Coca-Cola we know today still contains coca — but the ecgonine alkaloid is removed from it. Perfecting that extraction took until 1929, so before that there were still trace amounts of coca’s psychoactive elements in Coca-Cola. They still use coca leaves, although they are a little older and not as fresh. According to Technology Org, “spent” coca leaves, which have already had the cocaine removed, are utilized, which means that “de-cocainised” coca leaf extracts are used as a flavoring agent (2). 

When it comes to the recipe for Coca-Cola Classic, the company says that the most “protected and confidential” portion of the formula is the carbonated water; caramel color; phosphoric acid; caffeine; and natural flavorings.

Does Sugar Qualify as a Vegetarian Food?

Coca-Cola Classic has 39 grams of sugar in a 12-ounce can. When a drink is offered in a certain location, the kind of sugar utilized will vary. If you’re in the United States and want a Coca-Cola product that is sweetened with either HFCS or sugar, you’ll find that information on its website.

When maize is more readily accessible, we tend to utilize HFCS.” We’ll switch to sugarcane or sugar beet if it’s more readily accessible.

Corn starch-based HFCS is vegan. “High-fructose corn syrup” is a sweetener manufactured from corn starch, according to Healthline. When consumed, it similarly acts in the body as table sugar. HFCS is widely utilized in the United States because of its low cost.” In November 1984, amidst rising sugar prices, Coca-Cola made a switch from sugar to high fructose corn syrup which was a much cheaper alternative (2).

High fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a liquid alternative sweetener to sucrose that is made from corn, using chemicals (caustic soda, hydrochloric acid) and enzymes (-amylase and glucoamylase) to hydrolyze corn starch to corn syrup containing mostly glucose and a third enzyme (glucose isomerase) to isomerize glucose in corn syrup to fructose to yield HFCS products classified according to their fructose content: HFCS-90, HFCS-42, and HFCS-55. HFCS-90 is the major product of these chemical reactions and is blended with glucose syrup to obtain HFCS-42 and HFCS-55. HFCS has many advantages compared to sucrose, including its sweetness, solubility, acidity and its relative cheapness in the United States (3).

Sugar beet is also vegan since bone char is not utilized in the processing of it, unlike sugarcane. Sugarcane may be filtered and bleached using bone char.

Bone char is made by heating animal bones to extraordinarily high temperatures and reducing them to carbon before being utilized in a refinery,” according to the Huffington Post. There are no bone char particles in the sugar, but it comes into touch with them. Bone char is a heterogenous adsorbent, which is produced from the destructive distillation of dried, crushed cattle bones. Typically, it has been utilized in the sugar industry for the removal of color by sorption. The bones from cattle, goat, sheep, chicken etc. are accumulating day by day as waste materials and require proper solid waste management. The utilization of this bone for the synthesis of bone char, which can be used as an adsorbent to remove contaminants from the wastewater, can provide a better solution for the waste management (4).

However, this isn’t always the case. In certain cases, granular carbon is used as a filter. It’s impossible to identify one from the other since they’re so similar in appearance and flavor. Many packaged goods do not disclose the source of their sugar, and establishing the source is a time-consuming job.

Keeping in mind the concept of veganism, which strives to avoid animal products as “far as is practicable and reasonable,” is vital when it comes to sugar.

 Are sweeteners vegan?

Diet Coke and Coca-Cola Zero Sugar are Coca-sugar-free Cola’s variants of its famous fizzy drink. According to Coca-Cola, the two flavors have a slightly distinct flavor profile. According to the label, “Coca-Cola Zero Sugar looks and tastes more like Coca-original Cola’s flavor.” Because of its milder taste, Diet Coke has a somewhat different flavor profile than regular Coke.

The artificial sweeteners used in both products make them both very sweet, regardless of which one you pick. Aspartame, an artificial sweetener, is included in both. However, aspartame has been extensively studied on animals to ensure its safety. In animal and human trials, aspartame’s safety has been thoroughly investigated.” As far as high-intensity sweeteners go, this is the most well researched.” Controlled studies have found no evidence of any neurologic or behavioral effects of aspartame in healthy adults or children and no effect of aspartame on cognition or behavior in children with attention deficit disorder. In addition, aspartame exposure was not associated with any increase in cancer in either male or female mice of either strain (5).

Acesulfame-K is also used by Coca-Cola. In the past, the calorie-free sugar alternative has been tested on animals by Cruelty-Free Reviews. “However, these experiments were not carried out by producers or makers of the product, nor were they paid for by these firms.” No human health problems associated with the consumption of acesulfame-K have been reported in the scientific literature, despite more than 15 y of extensive use in many countries. The daily intake of acesulfame-K is estimated to be about 20% of the ADI of 15 mg/kg body weight/ d established by the USFDA (5).

Is Coke Using Animals In Its Research?

PETA announced in 2007 that Coca-Cola has ended animal experimentation. Animal rights group PETA published a letter from Coca-Cola, which claimed, “the Coca-Cola business does not perform animal testing and does not directly sponsor animal testing on its products.”

“We are sending letters to our partners and research groups that may undertake safety reviews on substances, requesting that they utilize alternatives to animal testing,” it said. One of Coca-largest Cola’s corn syrup suppliers, Ingredion Incorporated, ended animal testing in 2019.

However, to determine the ADI, the acceptable daily intake of these sweeteners, defined as the estimated amount (usually expressed in milligrams per kilogram of body weight per day) that a person can safely consume on average every day over a lifetime without risk, animal experiments were intensively performed in the past (5).

Coke’s use of plastic is a hot topic

Coca-Cola may be vegan, but its excessive usage of plastic is affecting the environment. Three million tons of plastic garbage were created by the beverages firm in 2017 alone, the company confessed in 2019. Approximately 200,000 plastic bottles are thrown away every minute.

It takes hundreds of years for plastic garbage to decompose in the seas, rivers, and landfills. Every single piece of plastic that has ever been made is still available for purchase. Approximately 100 million animals are killed each year as a consequence of plastic ingestion and entanglement. 

Despite this, Coca-Cola has resisted the idea of phasing out plastic bottles. Instead, the company plans to employ a greater percentage of recycled materials. Coca-Cola plans to use 50% recycled materials by 2030, according to a corporate official speaking at the World Economic Forum’s annual gathering.

Even though customers still prefer plastic bottles, the company will not cease utilizing them. Bea Perez, the company’s senior vice president and communications and sustainability officer, told the BBC that “we won’t be in business if we don’t accommodate customers.”

“So, while we update our bottling infrastructure, go into recycling, and innovate, we also have to show the customer what the potential is,” they said. ” This too will pass.”

Other FAQs about Vegans that you may be interested in.

Is Dunkin beyond vegan?

Is e 415 vegan?

Is e-liquid vegan?

Is 4 loko vegan?


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is coke 0 vegan?” and discussed the components of coke 0.


  1. Lowe, H. , Watson, C. , Badal, S. , Peart, P. , Toyang, N. and Bryant, J. Promising Efficacy of the Cola acuminata Plant: A Mini Review. Adv Biol Chem, 2014, 4, 240-245.
  2. Chauhan, Megha. Crisis and Coca-Cola. Available at SSRN 3664678. 2019.  
  3. Parker, Kay, Michelle Salas, and Veronica C. Nwosu. High fructose corn syrup: production, uses and public health concerns. Biotechnol Molec Biol Rev, 2010, 5, 71-78.
  4. Hyder, A. H. M. G., Shamim A. Begum, and Nosa O. Egiebor. Adsorption isotherm and kinetic studies of hexavalent chromium removal from aqueous solution onto bone char. J Environ Chem Eng, 2015, 3, 1329-1336.
  5. Kroger, Manfred, Kathleen Meister, and Ruth Kava. Low‐calorie sweeteners and other sugar substitutes: a review of the safety issues. Comprehen rev food sci food safe, 2006, 5, 35-47.
  6. Tireki, Suzan. A review on packed non-alcoholic beverages: Ingredients, production, trends and future opportunities for functional product development. Trend Food Sci Technol, 2021, 112, 442-454.