Is 805 vegan?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Is 805 vegan?” and will discuss the components of 805 beers.

Is 805 vegan?

Yes, 805 is vegan. 805 is made up of water, yeast, hops, and malt, there is no animal product in 805 beers that’s why it is vegan.

Even though meat statistics do not reflect changes in overall meat consumption, surveys reveal that between 2015 and 2020 the share of self-reported vegetarians in Germany increased from 7.6% to 9.3% and the share of self-reported vegans from 1.2% to 1.6%, with a higher share for millennials. During the same period, the number of vegan restaurants in Germany increased from 137 to 242 (4).

The History of Beer 805

The emergency of 805 beers in 2012 may have re-ignited the ancient adage “news spreads like wildfire.” To begin with, the 805 beer was solely sold in California. They had no idea, however, that the beer would spread like wildfire throughout the country? In only three years, this beer would be ranked among the top twenty-five national brews in the United States.

Let’s put it out of our minds and concentrate on what makes this brew special. The Firestone Walker Company may have seen an economic potential in the development of this beer, which required an ale mix of alcohol. With its malty, cider-like flavor and refined tart and hoppy finish, 805 beers quickly became a popular choice in its market niche.

805 is the area code for central California, so if you were wondering where the trademark originated from, you’re not alone. Arizona, Nevada, and Texas were among the 805’s new territories by 2016. Firestone Walker then began a Columbian chain distribution that saw 805 beer dominate the best portions of Hawaii, Washington, and Chicago, Minnesota in 2018.

Nearly $50 million in beer was sold by 805 in the same calendar year. That’s almost a 21% increase in beer sales over last year’s 808 sales. The company’s 808 beer profit would be earning what in 2018? Perhaps it’s just around the corner, perhaps it’s already passed the one billionth threshold.

The 805 Ingredients

The consumption of polyphenol-rich foods, like beer, is a well-accepted factor involved in the prevention of oxidative stress-associated diseases. Traditionally, beer is obtained from as little as four basic ingredients: barley, hop, yeast and water. The first two ingredients naturally contain phenolics, however during beer production, these molecules undergo chemical modifications and new molecules are formed, influencing both the yield and final characteristics of a beer (1).

Interested in learning what makes this beer a Firestone Walker signature? 805 has a smooth and full-bodied finish because of the inclusion of four key components. Included are:


Because water is used to brew beer all over the place, it’s an uncommon element to add here. 805 brewers handle water differently, and that makes a difference. Methodically, they employ it to get a soft and creamy flavor.

Also the organoleptic properties of different kinds of food and beverage depend on water quality. An instance of particular relevance regards the quality of water in the preparation of Italian coffee. There are different elements in the drinkable water that can modify the final taste of food or produce sensible alteration in organoleptic properties. This occurs also for beer (water constitutes about 95% of the total ingredients) and of course distilled liqueurs went through similar processes because of the use of water in the production chain (3).


The malt element is the explanation if you’re wondering why 805 is so sweet and citrusy. Malt is a phrase used in the brewing industry to describe the process of preparing a beer with a coffee- or caramel-like taste by using germination of seeds. So, pilsner malt and barley malt are used in the production of 805 brews. 805 has a crystal and crispy look because of this component in the pilsner malt.

According to research, four fifths of beer’s phenols come from malt or other mashed cereals. Phenols undergo both quantitative and qualitative changes during seed germination and brewing processes. During the germination of barley seed, i.e., malting, phenolic content decreases due to leaching, and followed by seed-drying (kilning), during which the improved crumbliness of the grain enhances the enzymatic release of bound phenolic acids Total phenolic content of barley (whose antioxidant contribution is mostly for ferulic and sinapic acids) increases four-fold during the transition to malt (1).


If there were no hops in the 805 beer, you may think it was a drink or juice. The 805’s cider flavor is offset by the bitterness of hops in the aftertaste. Intoxication is accelerated by the effect of the hops. Brewing an 805 with hops retains these cocktails to their healthful essence regardless of how they’re served: keg, bottle, can.

Hops are a source of phenolic compounds (up to 4% of dry matter). Hops, which were formerly included in the brewing process mainly for their preserving properties, are added and wort boiling is started. Hops addition actually has several advantages, improving not only the bitter taste and astringency but giving protection to beer brewing yeasts, thanks to its antibacterial activity, against Gram-positive bacteria, and lowering pH to 4–4.2 (1).


The alcohol concentration in beer is increased by the addition of yeast. The 805 brewers utilize either natural yeast or high-quality synthetic yeast to brew their beverages in eight days. Yeast, on the other hand, enhances the crispness and smoothness of 805 beverages by increasing their carbonation. Yeast is a key ingredient in the bubbly and fizzy 805 drink.

The flavor and aroma of any beer is, in large part, determined by the yeast strain employed together with the wort composition. In addition, yeast properties such as flocculation, fermentation ability (including the uptake of wort sugars, amino acids, small peptides, and ammonium ions), osmotic pressure, ethanol tolerance, and oxygen requirements have a critical impact on fermentation performance. After cooling and removal of spent hops, the liquid known as ‘hopped wort’ is pumped to the fermentation vessels and yeast is added under aeration for growth. During the anaerobic phase yeast cells convert sugars to ethanol and carbon dioxide. Depending on the temperature during fermentation and the nature of yeast collection at the end of the fermentation period, beers are distinguished as being produced by ‘bottom fermentation’ or ‘top fermentation’. Yeast strains, appropriate for bottom-fermented beers (Saccharomyces carlsbergensis), are active below 5°C and they settle to the bottom of the fermenter after production of about 5% ethanol. Conversely, yeasts typical for the production of top-fermented beers (Saccharomyces cerevisiae), operate at ambient temperature and resist higher concentrations of ethanol up to 12%. When the activity stops, the yeast cells collect to the top as a dense foam (2).

What Is 805 Beer’s Alcohol Content?

Since 805 beers are more than simply a beverage, it serves as a symbol of the drinker’s maturity. Drinks with a high ethanol content might be harmful to your health. Perhaps that’s why the 805 creators decided to include a 4.7 percent alcohol level in their concoction.

 For the most part, it is lovely when a beer “lifts you to heaven.” Unchecked ethanol levels, on the other hand, may result in toxicity. The alcohol level of a beer may be determined by looking at the Alcohol by Volume (ABV) label found on every beer can or bottle. 805 beer has a 4.7 percent alcohol by volume (ABV). 805 contains 4.7 milliliters of 805-pure alcohol for every 100 milliliters of solution.

805 Beer Calories

As with alcohol’s ethanol level, beer has a certain number of calories. If you don’t want to gain weight, restrict your alcohol intake. To ensure your wellness, the 8054 brewers employ 141 grams of calories each serving. Calories are often linked to heart disease, diabetes, obesity, and a host of other health issues. Make sure your alcoholic beverage has a typical 238 oz. of ethanol calories for this purpose. 

What’s the flavor of 805 beers like to drink?

805 beer’s signature flavor is a mild, malty, fruity flavor with a bitter aftertaste from the hops. You can’t get enough of the 805 Cerveza’s crisp, dry, full-bodied flavor with a tart or citrus lemon aftertaste. 805’s taste will be broken down into its flavor and fragrance to better grasp the beer’s flavor.

The cider and honey-like flavor of 805 beers are undeniable at the first sip. It has a modest biscuit or bread flavor with a hops bitterness aftertaste that is balanced off by the citrus finish of the lemon.

With its flowery and malty combination, the drink has a pleasant aroma. In addition, the aroma of hops refreshes you and gives you a renewed sense of well-being. The 805’s delicious scent isn’t to be overlooked.

Other FAQs about Vegans that you may be interested in.

Is Coca-Cola vegan?

Is coke 0 vegan?

Is d panthenol vegan?

Do vegans live longer?


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Is 805 vegan?” and discussed the components of 805 beers.


  1. Ambra, Roberto, Gianni Pastore, and Sabrina Lucchetti. The role of bioactive phenolic compounds on the impact of beer on health. Molecules, 2021, 26, 486.
  2. Aroh, Kenechukwu. Beer production. Available at SSRN 3458983. 2019.
  3. Quarto, A., et al. Electronic nose for evaluating water use in beer production. ISOCS/IEEE International Symposium on Olfaction and Electronic Nose (ISOEN). IEEE, 2017.
  4. Simons, Johannes, et al. Vegetarianism/veganism: A way to feel good. Sustainability, 2021, 13, 3618.