Does Ragu sauce have dairy?

In this article, we will find out if Ragu sauce contains any dairy, which sauces are dairy-free, which sauces contain dairy, and other information about Ragu sauce.

Does Ragu sauce have dairy?

Ragu sauce is known to contain a small amount of heavy cream or milk, to lighten the color and add richness to the flavor. This means that Ragu sauce is not usually dairy-free, but a dairy-free version of the sauce can be made at home or bought ready-made from the store.

What is Ragu sauce?

Ragu sauce is more commonly known as spaghetti sauce, but can also be referred to as “meat” sauce. It is an Italian American sauce that is seen available in many variations, such as gluten-free, vegan, or organic.

It is known as a meat sauce because of its ingredients. Most people believe it to be a tomato sauce, but it is in fact a meat-based sauce. This sauce includes meat broth, any kind of ground or shredded meat, seasoning, garlic, onions, a small amount of tomato paste, and milk or heavy cream.

Ragu can be used in spaghetti, lasagna, any kind of pasta, and much more. It resembles the bolognese sauce, which also typically contains meat and a small amount of tomato paste but with the additional ingredient of any kind of soft melted cheese.

How do you make dairy-free Ragu sauce?

Ragu sauce can easily be modified to suit any eaters with allergies and sensitivities to gluten or dairy. For a very easy recipe on how to make allergy-friendly Ragu sauce, click here.

The sauce from this recipe can be used and poured on top of any pasta such as angel hair or spaghetti. But for gluten-free options, pasta made from brown rice is a good start. 

If you are looking for a grain-free alternative, try serving this sauce over quinoa. Both of these variations are widely available at your local stores.

What other sauces contain dairy?

Cream-based sauces like salad dressings or Alfredo sauces list dairy as their main ingredient. Most people believe that vinaigrettes do not contain any dairy, but it does in fact contain Romano and Parmesan cheese in its ingredients.

Oftentimes tomato-based sauces such as bolognese sauce or pasta sauce, contain some form of dairy, whether it is cream or milk, or cheese.

French sauces like Bechamel sauce, Mornay sauce, Soubise sauce, and sour cream are all made with the base ingredient of milk.

Even though all of the above-mentioned sauces contain some form of dairy in their original recipes, it is still possible to make dairy-free versions of them at home or find them dairy-free and ready-made in grocery stores.

Which sauces from the brand Ragú do not contain dairy?

Ragú is also the name of an Italian sauce production company. Its range of pasta sauces is mostly vegan and dairy-free, with the exception of a few. Below is the complete list of pasta sauces that are dairy-free:

  • Ragú Simply: Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce
  • Ragú Simply: Chunky Garden Vegetable Pasta Sauce
  • Ragú Simply: Chunky Marinara Pasta Sauce
  • Ragú Simply: Traditional Pasta Sauce
  • Ragú Old World Style: Mushroom Sauce
  • Ragú Old World Style: Marinara Sauce
  • Ragú Old World Style: Traditional Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Super Chunky Mushroom Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Mushroom & Green Pepper Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Tomato, Garlic & Onion Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Garden Combination Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Sautéed Onion & Garlic Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Roasted Garlic Sauce
  • Ragú Chunky: Hearty Traditional Sauce

Ragú did not originally have mostly vegan and dairy-free sauces. Due to the increasing demand of more and more people wanting such alternatives, Ragú has modified most of its pasta sauces to regularly provide dairy-free and vegan options.

It is always best to read the labels and list of ingredients on the packaging when using a ready-made sauce, to make sure the sauce is safe to consume for any people who experience sensitivities to dairy products.

Other FAQs about Ragu that you may be interested in.

Can I substitute ragu for tomato sauce?

Is Ragu better than Prego?

Conclusion

We hope this article helped navigate which sauces are dairy and which are dairy-free, while also discussing whether Ragu sauce has any dairy content in it. 

Citations

https://ovenvia.com/is-ragu-gluten-and-dairy-free/

https://yourstory.com/mystory/beba811f8f-top-10-surprising-food/amp

https://www.rachaelroehmholdt.com/top-5-dairy-free-ranch-dressing-brands

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.