Does Prego meat sauce have meat in it?

In this article, we will discuss whether or not Prego meat sauce contains any meat in it and other related topics.

Does Prego meat sauce have meat in it?

Yes, Prego meat sauce lists its ingredients which mention the usage of beef, beef broth, beef extract, and beef fat. The official name of this sauce is “Prego Italian Sauce, Flavored With Meat” sauce, which is printed on the packaging of the sauce. This can be a cause of confusion for some but it does in fact, contain meat.

To buy Prego Italian sauce flavored with meat online, click this link.

What is Prego?

Prego, which is an Italian word that means “you’re welcome”, is the name of an Italian sauce-producing brand. Prego belongs to the American parent company, Campbell Soup Company, and was first introduced in 1981. 

Prego’s official website divides its sauces into four main categories:

  • Alfredo Sauces
  • Classic Italian Pasta Sauces
  • Prego Farmers Market
  • Prego+

What kind of sauces does Prego make?

Prego prides itself on making classic Italian sauces that are prepared with the freshest tomatoes and cooked within 6 to 8 hours of harvesting, producing sauces of the utmost quality. 

Their sauces are known to be universally loved in every household, often ranking at the number one spot in most comparisons of pasta sauces.

A key factor in the success of Prego sauces is the delicious taste and thick consistency, which is achieved without the excessive use of starch or other thickening agents. 

This innovative recipe makes Prego sauces taste more like a homemade pasta sauce, which is why many families prefer it to other companies that offer a more manufactured taste.

Prego is also very inclusive to all types of eaters, offering a vast range of vegan and organic sauces. This is another reason why Prego sauces remain the top picks of consumers.

Does Prego offer meatless sauces?

Prego offers many vegan meat sauces, which are available nationwide and at your local stores. The  Prego+ Plant Protein is a tomato sauce that contains soy-based vegan meat crumbles, providing 4 grams of plant-based protein per serving.

Here is a list of all the available vegan sauces from Prego:

  • Traditional No Sugar Added
  • Traditional Sensitive Recipe
  • Chunky Garden Harvest (Tomato with Leafy Greens)
  • Garden Harvest Chunky Zucchini
  • Traditional Light Smart
  • Traditional Sauce
  • Roasted Garlic & Herb
  • Marinara
  • Tomato Basil Garlic
  • Lower Sodium Roasted Red pepper & Garlic
  • Lower Sodium Traditional
  • Garden Harvest Chunky Combo
  • Garden Harvest Chunky Tomato, Onion, & Garlic
  • Lower Sodium Mushroom
  • Fresh Mushroom
  • Chunky Garden Mushroom Supreme
  • Garden Harvest Mushroom & Green Peppers
  • Prego+ Meatless Meat Sauce
  • Mushroom
  • Garden Vegetable
  • Tomato & Basil
  • Classic Marinara
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Classic Pizza Sauce
  • Pizzeria Style Pizza Sauce

Equipped with a very large variety of vegan-friendly sauces, Prego provides ample options for conscious eaters who want to integrate more plant-based foods into their diets to get additional protein, or simply wish to reduce the demand for animal-based products.

What recipes include the use of Prego meat sauce?

Prego meat sauces are most commonly used to prepare lasagnas, all kinds of pasta, spaghetti, pizzas, and other Italian cuisines that include the use of meat.

To try a recipe for an easy Lasagna that uses Prego Italian Sauce, click here.


We hope this article proved helpful in answering whether Prego meat sauce contains any meat in it or not, while also shedding light on what other types of sauces contain meat, and which are vegan friendly. 


Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!