In this short blog, we will discuss the question, “Can you eat soy on Ekadasi?.” We will also move on to discuss what Ekadashi is, why rice and other foods are prohibited, the foods to have on Ekadashi and those to avoid, what soy is, and the safety of eating soy on Ekadashi.
Can you eat soy on ekadashi?
No, you can’t eat soy on Ekadashi. Soy and its products are prepared from soybeans, which are highly frowned upon on Ekadashi fast.
Although they are a source of high-quality protein for providing nutrition in the absence of meat, they are not allowed, so anyone observing the fast day should avoid them even if they cannot observe a full day fast.
What is Ekadashi?
Ekadashi is a cultural practice that originates from the Hindi and Jhani peoples as a lucky day. Ekadashi occurs on the eleventh day of the month of two lunar cycles, namely Krishna and Shukla paksha.
Ekadashi represents five senses, five organs, and one mind in terms of spiritual symbolism, totalling eleven senses. Usually, people practice a fast by managing their eleven senses to commemorate the day while eating only the foods allowed and abstaining from others.
Why are rice and other grains not allowed on Ekadashi?
There are both spiritual and scientific reasons why rice and other grains are not permitted on Ekadashi.
According to mythology, a drop of Lord Brahma’s sweet that fell to the ground transformed into a demon. Brahma asked the demon to reside in the rice that people eat on Ekadashi and transform into worms in their stomachs when it sought a place to live.
Similarly, there is a scientific justification for not eating rice on Ekadashi. It is said that on Ekadashi, foods that retain too much water can make you shaky since the moon attracts water and its rays are considered to have cosmic energy.
Thus, consuming rice and other grains can make certain ailments such as water retention, colds, sinusitis and others worsen since rice grains contain a lot of water.
What is soy?
Soy is a popular legume of Asian origin. Soy foods are prepared from soybeans, a legume that gets its name from the seed containing foods in which they grow.
They are also frequently used as a meat substitute in vegetarian diets due to the high-quality protein from soybeans, which is not available in other legumes.
Is it safe to eat soy on Ekadashi?
It is not safe to eat soy on Ekadashi as all types of beans, which include soy and its products, are prohibited on the Ekadashi fast.
Grains, legumes, lentils, and more are believed to be high in water retention, which can be dangerous to eat on Ekadashi day, and thus should be avoided on this day.
What are the foods that can be eaten on Ekadashi?
Ekadashi celebrations come with a total fast for strict dieters, whereas some may choose to eat on such a day but must only consume foods that are permitted on that day.
Some foods allowed on Ekadashi include all fresh and dried fruits, all nuts, oils made from nuts, potatoes and sweet potatoes, pumpkin, cucumber, radish, squash, lemon, avocado, olives, coconut, buckwheat, sugar, black pepper, fresh salt, and turmeric.
Ekadashi is observed to eat simply to spend more time chanting, hearing, and remembering the Lord.
What are the foods to be avoided on Ekadashi?
The foods to avoid on Ekadashi come from different categories of foods, essentially to avoid fancy eating that can distract you from the prayers and the day. Some food categories are not allowed on Ekadashi, including
Not all vegetables are allowed on Ekadashi. Thus, on Ekadashi, one should avoid tomatoes, eggplant, cauliflower, lettuce, broccoli, bell peppers, peas, chickpeas, and all types of beans and their products like tofu, papadams, and more.
Some leafy vegetables not allowed on Ekadashi include spinach, cabbage, salad, and leafy herbs like parsley, curry leaves, and neem leaves.
Some species prohibited on Ekadashi include sesame seeds, cumin seeds, hing, fenugreek, mustard seeds, tamarind, celery, fennel, poppy seeds, nutmeg, cloves, and more.
Grains include millet, barley, wheat, farina, Dalia, rice, pasta, and corn. All types of dahl, all types of flour from grains and beans like rice flour, chicken peas flour, and dahl flour, starches from corn, and all products prepared from them are prohibited on Ekadashi.
Some oils are also not permitted on Ekadashi, and they include corn oil, mustard oil, sesame oil, and products fried from these oils, such as potato chips.
Never allowed foods include onions, garlic, meat, fish, eggs, carrots, and their products.
In this short blog, we have discussed the question, “Can you eat soy on Ekadasi?.” We have also moved on to discuss what Ekadashi is, why rice and other foods are prohibited, the foods to have on Ekadashi and those to avoid, what soy is, and the safety of eating soy on Ekadashi.