Can you eat fish with dairy kosher

In this brief guide, we will address the query, “can you eat fish with dairy kosher?” We will also discuss what kosher means, what you can eat under the kosher ruling, and other queries related to the subject.

Can you eat fish with dairy kosher?

Yes, you can eat fish with dairy kosher. According to the kosher laws, fish can be consumed alongside either meat or dairy. But this only applies when the preparation of your fish has not implied equipment used to process meat or dairy.

Kosher guidelines are strict, and they forbid the combination of any meat and dairy product. Pareve can be consumed alongside these groups with no issue, but it is important to keep utensils and equipment for meat separated from the ones for dairy, and pareve.

What is kosher?

Kosher is a term used to design foods appropriate for consumption according to the declared  Jewish dietary law. It might be hard to completely understand the laws ruling kosher foods, but there are certain factors that can be understood.

The laws of kosher foods were first created in the Bible, and Jews have attended to them for about 3000 years. Also, these guidelines are based on Jewish traditional codes, like the Talmud.

So, it is not just about not eating pork, it is much deeper than that and here we will provide you with a wider panorama of these Jewish laws.

What are the kosher guidelines?

First of all, kosher guidelines divide foods into three different groups:

  • Innocuous or pareve. Foods like fruits and vegetables will always be encouraged to consume under Jewish laws. Also, foods that are not ultra-processed can fit into this category.
  • Kosher when supervised. The type of food of this group needs to meet kosher acceptable processing. A reliable kosher authority will determine if it is kosher appropriate or not.
  • Never kosher. Some foods like shellfish and pork, as both are forbidden by the Jewish laws.

Which products are allowed under the kosher guidelines?

The food accepted by Jewish laws is called kosher, and the ones that are not allowed receive the name of trefah. Some other rules for the kosher diet are:

  • The only land animals allowed to be eaten are the ones that eat grass and should exhibit split hooves.
  • The sea products consumed need to have fins and scales. Shellfish are not allowed on this diet.
  • The only birds allowed for consumption are “clean” birds, which means they can only be eaten but do not consume other animals. Birds of prey are not allowed, but poultry is.
  • According to Exodus 23:19 in the Torah: “do not boil a kid in its mother’s milk”, meat and dairy are not allowed to be eaten together, if people have consumed meat, they need to wait about six hours before consuming dairy products.
  • Pareve foods can be consumed with meat or dairy because they are labeled as neutral. But the equipment needs not to have been used for processing meat or dairy, or pareve will lose its neutrality.
  • Meat needs to be soaked to get rid of any traces of blood before cooking.
  • The animal needs to be sacrificed by a person designed by Jewish law, also known as a shochet.
  • The only ruminant animals allowed to be consumed are:
  • Cows
  • Sheep
  • Deer
  • Lambs
  • Oxen

Also, all utensils and equipment used to process both meat and dairy need to be kept separate. This also applies to the sinks where each one will be washed.

If you want further guidance on this subject, please click here.

What dairy products can you eat if you follow a kosher diet?

It is true that dairy products can be freely consumed, but they need to accomplish several rules to fit under the kosher criteria, such as:

  • They must come from a kosher-accepted animal, like cow, goat, and lamb.
  • They should not be mixed with any meat-based products, like gelatin or rennet.
  • Once again, the utensils and equipment used for processing them need to be meat and dairy-free.

What are the kosher guidelines for fish?

Fish needs to meet certain criteria to be classified as pareve. First of all, it needs to come from organisms with fins and scales, such as:

  • Mackerel
  • Tuna
  • Salmon
  • Halibut

Certains aquatic animals are not allowed under kosher guidelines, and therefore need to be avoided, like:

  • Crab
  • Shrimp
  • Oysters
  • Lobster
  • Shellfish, in general.

Fish do not require the remarkable separation of utensils and equipment for their preparation, which means fish can be eaten with meat or dairy kosher approved.

Conclusion

In this brief guide, we have addressed the query, “can you eat fish with dairy kosher?” We have also discussed other queries related to the subject at hand. 

Hope you found this blog useful. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Citations

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1141608/

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/what-is-kosher#animal-products

https://www.crcweb.org/kosher_articles/what_is_kosher.php

https://www.familyfoodrelief.org/kosher.php#:~:text=The%20laws%20of%20kosher%20food,in%20the%20basic%20kosher%20laws.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/zv626yc/revision/8

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.