Can you eat fish on a vegan diet?

In this brief guide, we will answer the query, “Can you eat fish on a vegan diet?” and will discuss vegan alternatives for fish.

Can you eat fish on a vegan diet?

No, you cannot eat fish on a vegan diet. A vegan diet, one of the most popular forms of vegetarianism, forbids the consumption of any animal products. Meat, poultry, fish, and shellfish all fall under this category. Honey, cheese, and gelatin are all off-limits to vegans because of their ties to animals. Ethical and health motivations emerged as the most common types of motivations toward a vegetarian/vegan diet, including concern for animals (i.e., animal rights or welfare) and concern for the environment (1).This is because the components are produced in an unethical, exploitative, or damaging manner to animals’ health. way.

2.5 million Brits (5% of the population) follow a pescetarian diet. The number rose in 2020, along with other vegetarian diet variants, with around 300,000 people successfully adopting the diet in Great Britain (2).

Fish may be a part of certain plant-based diets.

Vegan and vegetarian diets do not contain fish; however, some kinds of fish may be included in other plant-based diets. Vegetarians who include fish and seafood in their diets are called pescatarians or pescetarians. Pescatarians don’t consume any meat, but they may include seafood in their meals (3).

Pescatarians eat fish, but they are also Lacto-ovo vegetarians, which means they consume dairy and eggs in addition to their usual vegetarian fare (3). So-called Ostrovegans, on the other hand, is a vegan diet that includes bivalve mollusks like clams and mussels along with other shellfish. The consumption of these sea invertebrates are considered ethical for many vegans because no forests are cleared for oysters, no fertilizer is needed, and no grain goes to waste to feed them (4).

As a result of their absence of a central nervous system, these creatures cannot feel pain like other animals. The hypothesis of bivalves having more complicated neural systems and maybe experiencing pain-like feelings is still up for debate, though (4).

Vegan fish products other than fish

Don’t worry if you’re a vegan. You can eat a variety of sea productsfish other than tuna:

Algae and molds

These two components may be used to create a fish stock substitute made entirely of plants. A great fish alternative, algae have a salty and savory taste similar to that of the sea. As an alternative to fish, use soy sauce and miso paste. Microalgae are microscopic algae rich in protein, carbohydrates, lipids and other bioactive compounds. Microalgae-derived proteins have complete essential amino acid profiles and their protein content is higher than that of conventional sources, such as meat, poultry and dairy products (5).Vegan caviar may be made from algae as well.

Alternatives made with tofu

Common fish alternatives are made with tofu and seitan (wheat gluten) to which soy sauce, miso paste or algae are added to provide the sea-like taste (5).

A vegan’s best buddy is tofu. To make it, soya beans are soaked, crushed, then combined with a coagulant. It has a taste that is bland and neutral, so it takes on the tastes of the other ingredients it is cooked with, including the sauce. Make a vegan fish broth, add ground algae, and serve with crispy bread to sop up the sauce. It’s a great alternative to traditional fish fingers since it has a similar texture and flavor. Tofu is also used to produce vegan cheese alternatives (5).

Seitkan and Jackfruit

Wheat gluten, also called seitan, is obtained during the isolation of starch from wheat flour and is used for its binding, dough-forming and leavening ability. Its cohesive and chewy quality gives the meat-like texture to the products prepared with wheat gluten (5).

Seitan, like tofu, is made from gluten but has a neutral flavor. It may be marinated and seasoned to taste. It’s perfect for making fish filets and burgers out of plant-based ingredients. While cooking it, the taste of jackfruit absorbs that of the dish it is cooked with, and as such, it makes excellent fish substitutes. Jackfruit is rich in protein on a dry-weight basis. These make the savory dishes a good meat substitute, ultimately impacting human dietary habits (6).

Carrot marinated with spices

Meat-appetizers are made with garlic, fresh carrots, onions, and seasoning mixture (6). It’s critical how you prepare the carrots in this recipe. Cut them into thin strips and immerse them in an oil-vinegar-algae-liquid-smoke solution for a few hours. Salmon-tasting carrot pieces absorb all of this flavor (5).


To make tomatoes taste like tuna, prepare them as follows: peel, pit, cut into filets, and marinade in the appropriate seasonings (5). Tomato paste and tomato puree are used in many plant-based meat alternatives, such as sausages and burgers (6).


To create vegan sushi, combine cucumber, avo, and bell pepper.

There are also vegan food products as an option for proteins

If you’re vegan and want to eliminate all animal products from your diet, there are some fantastic meat substitutes you can use to boost your protein consumption. Non-animal sources, including cereals, vegetables, pulses, nuts, seaweed, microalgae, and fungi, are versatile and offer high flexibility for designing innovative plant-based food products (5).

Vegans consume a lot of tofu since it’s the most widely available plant-based protein. Incredibly diverse, loaded in protein, and loaded with necessary vitamins and minerals, lentils are a powerhouse of nutrition (6). Tofu is versatile and can be prepared in a variety of ways, including stir-frying, baking, steaming, grilling, and deep-frying, like in this mouthwatering tofu tempura (5).

Other legumes and beans, such as lentils, black beans, and chickpeas, are excellent sources of protein and fiber and may be eaten raw in salads or baked into vegetarian burgers for a satisfying meal. These high-protein, brain-protective-fat nuts and seeds include walnuts, peanuts, almonds, and sunflower seeds. Eat them raw, or mix soaked cashews to produce a tasty vegan cheese sauce. Oilseed proteins from rapeseed and canola can be used as structuring agents when heated, promoting meat-like textures  (5).

With its salty flavor and chewy texture, fermented tempeh is a great alternative to bacon, whole wheat-based seitan tastes and feels much like meat. Tempeh is also a fermented soybean meat replacer that originated in Indonesia. Rhizopus oligoporus cultures were added to prepare cake from cooked soybeans and grains (such as rice and millet). Its culinary ingredients are like tofu, but it is denser and appears such as meat, because of soybeans (6).

What type of vegan diet should you go for?

Just as definitions of vegetarianism vary, so too do the motivations people have for following a vegetarian diet. Most common among vegetarians’ motivations include concerns about animals, health, the environment, and religion (1). It’s difficult to decide on a diet to follow, so think about everything you care about before making a decision. When picking a diet, keep these factors in mind:

·         The morals of consuming animal products, as well as agricultural methods

·         Beliefs in the supernatural

·         A review of health hazards and possible solutions

·         consequences for the environment

·         Amounts owed

·         Options for eating out and vegetables readily available

A diet is something you choose to do, not something you force yourself to do. Instead of succumbing to external demands, make a decision based on your desires. Be at ease about violating rules since you set your own and choose when it’s OK to do so.

People who are usually vegetarian or vegan but sometimes opt to ingest animal products are referred to as “flexitarians,”  a phrase that describes the ever-increasing variety of dietary choices.

Other FAQs about Vegans that you may be interested in.

Does being vegan before 6 works?

Does vegan collagen work?

Does vegan leather stretch?


In this brief guide, we answered the query, “Can you eat fish on a vegan diet?” and discussed vegan alternatives for fish.


  1. Rosenfeld, Daniel L. The psychology of vegetarianism: Recent advances and future directions. Appetite, 2018, 131, 125-138.
  2. Shaw, N. 470,000 of us gave up meat in 2020. Wales online. January 5th, 2021.
  3. Vergeer, Laura, et al. Vegetarianism and other eating practices among youth and young adults in major Canadian cities. Pub health nutr, 2020, 23, 609-619.  
  4. Milburn, J., Bobier, C. New Omnivorism: a Novel Approach to Food and Animal Ethics. Food ethics, 2022, 7, 5. 
  5. Alcorta, Alexandra, et al. Foods for plant-based diets: Challenges and innovations. Foods, 2021, 10, 293.
  6. Singh, M., Trivedi, N., Enamala, M.K. et al. Plant-based meat analogue (PBMA) as a sustainable food: a concise review. Eur Food Res Technol, 2021, 247, 2499–2526.