Can vegetarians drink coffee?

In this text, we will answer the question whether vegetarians can drink coffee or not and we will discuss the benefits of drinking coffee. In addition, we will discuss the type of coffee that vegans can drink.

Can vegetarians drink coffee?

The simple answer is yes, vegetarians and vegans can drink coffee. Even coffee drinks with heavy cream and milk are allowed in vegetarian diets (but not in vegan diets), as the consumption of these foods is allowed.

What is a vegetarian diet?

A vegetarian diet is one that does not include any type of meat, fish, poultry or pork, but can consume coffee or any kind of fruit. In general, despite not consuming meat products, the diet allows the consumption of animal derivatives, such as milk, eggs, honey and their by-products. People who follow a vegetarian diet are known as vegans.

There are several variations of vegetarian diets, such as:

  • Lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet: any type of meat, poultry, fish and pork is eliminated, but the consumption of dairy products and eggs is allowed
  • Lacto-vegetarian diet: any type of meat, poultry, fish, pork and eggs is eliminated, but the consumption of dairy products is allowed
  • Ovo-vegetarian diet: any type of meat, poultry, fish, pork and dairy products is eliminated, but the consumption of eggs is allowed
  • Pescatarian diet: any type of meat, poultry and pork is eliminated, but the consumption of fish, eggs and dairy products is allowed
  • Vegan diet: Eliminate any kind of meat, poultry, pork, fish, eggs, dairy products as well as other animal-derived products.

Some more restricted people follow the vegan diet more strictly, not consuming any product (whether food or not) that performs tests in animals.

What are the best non-dairy milks for coffee?

The main choice of most vegans is soy milk, due to its easy availability in cafeterias, its creaminess and neutral taste. Coffee shops often use soy milk due to its ability to create foam, which is necessary for many types of coffee drinks, such as cappuccino.

Another widely used alternative is almond milk, but this milk alternative does not foam as well as soy milk. Also, almond milk does not mix well with coffee.

Rice milk is used by coffee shops as an alternative to milk as well, due to its neutral taste. Some coffee shops also use other options like coconut milk and oat milk.

Another alternative is to use hazelnut milk in coffee, which is an excellent alternative to bring nutty notes to the drink, but this non-dairy milk leaves the coffee taste a little bitter. However, hazelnut milk is a great source of vitamins E and B, folic acid and is low in calories compared to regular milk.

The bottom line

In this text, we answered the question whether vegetarians and vegans could drink coffee or not and, in addition, we brought several options of vegan milks to add to coffee and obtain the desired creaminess in the drink. The final conclusion of the article was that vegetarians and vegans can drink coffee.

Other FAQs about Vegetarian that you may be interested in.

D Rise 60k is vegetarian or not?

Is Dymatize iso 100 vegetarian?

Can vegetarians eat beef noodles?

Conclusion

In this text, we answered the question whether vegetarians can drink coffee or not and we discussed the benefits of drinking coffee. In addition, we discussed the type of coffee that vegans can drink.

Citations

https://www.vegansociety.com/news/blog/your-guide-vegan-friendly-cafes-around-uk

https://awesomecoffee.com/blogs/protein-coffee/is-coffee-vegan