Can Vegans eat egg rolls?

In this article we will answer the following question: Can Vegans eat egg rolls? We will explain the difference between vegans and vegetarians, why won’t vegans eat eggs or milk, and where do they get protein from.

Can Vegans eat egg rolls?

Vegans cannot eat egg rolls, since they are made of eggs. From the food point of view, being vegan is the same as being strictly vegetarian. They have a diet based on cereals, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, mushrooms, seaweed, yeast, and/or other non-animal foods (eg, salt). The vegan diet does not include meat, fish, seafood, insects, animal by-products (gelatin, fish sauce, eggs, milk, or honey).

Vegans do not consider their lifestyle to be a form of vegetarianism and position themselves separately. “Vegetarian” can be a relatively vague term because it has subcategories based on dairy and eggs. Besides, some strict vegetarians wear leather belts and use cosmetics that have been tested on animals.

So the difference between being vegan and being vegetarian is rather philosophical. A vegetarian’s main motivation is health, and a vegan chooses a plant-based diet for ethical reasons.

Why don’t vegans eat eggs?

Although it does not seem obvious, the egg industry is responsible for killing billions of animals. Let’s take them one at a time.

The meat industry and the egg industry use different chicken hybrids (man-made breeds) to maximize the “production” of meat or eggs. Chickens of the breeds exploited in the meat industry grow very fast and reach a profitable weight at only 2 months of age, or even less. Chickens of the breeds hatched for eggs lay 30 times more eggs than wild hens, on average 300-320 eggs per year, compared to 10 eggs as a wild hen does. 

This abnormal rhythm of eggs dries their body of minerals and predisposes them to many diseases of the reproductive system, such as ovarian cancer, prolapse, or blockage of eggs in the reproductive tract, which causes deadly infections. 

All hens rescued from the egg industry die on average after only 2 years of life due to these diseases. We encourage you to google more detailed information about these hybrid breeds and you will see that human greed has no moral limits!

Males of the egg breed cannot lay eggs (eggs are the ovulation of the hen, and the males do not ovulate) nor are they profitable enough to be exploited for meat. They have no economic value so they are killed by suffocation or grinding in mixers, only a day or two after hatching. 

Females are killed after about two years or even sooner when egg production decreases too much about their food expenditure (the normal lifespan of a hen is 8 years).

Why vegan and not (ovo-lacto) vegetarian?

The dairy and egg industries are closely linked to the meat industry; “useless” animals such as male calves, hens, and non-profit cows end up in the slaughterhouse for meat consumers, and male chickens in the egg industry are killed shortly after hatching.

Many other branches of the livestock and textile industry are related to the meat industry: goose down and the sale of foie gras, wool, fur, and leather. By buying any of these products, vegetarians (ovo-lacto) also contribute to the killing of animals.

If they don’t eat eggs or meat, where do vegans get their protein from?

Vegans get their protein from plants, especially legumes, mushrooms, oilseeds, and seeds. Research shows that a vegan does not develop protein deficiencies if he includes protein-rich vegetables in a sufficient number of kilocalories in his diet.

It is not necessary to consume complete protein at every meal; In the past, it was believed that every meal should contain complete protein, but this myth has been dispelled by the scientific community.

What do vegans eat and what do they not eat?

People who adopt this diet do not eat the meat of any kind, fish and seafood, dairy, eggs, honey, therefore they eliminate all products that are of animal origin or obtained by their exploitation. Vegans eat vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds, which usually come from organic farming.

Among the products included in their diet, we mention beans, lentils, seitan, butter obtained from various nuts (for example, macadamia butter), flax seeds, chia and hemp, tofu and other soy products, yeast flakes, coconut products (coconut oil, coconut butter), seaweed, sprouted seeds, cereals and pseudocereals (spelled, teff, amaranth, quinoa, rice), broccoli, cauliflower, vegetable oils, sweeteners such as agave syrups or of maple.

Conclusions

In this article, we answered the following question: Can Vegans eat egg rolls? We explained the difference between vegans and vegetarians, why won’t vegans eat eggs or milk, and where do they get protein from.

Vegans do not eat egg rolls or anything else that contains eggs or other animal by-products. A vegan diet excludes all types of meat, fish, and shellfish, dairy products, eggs, and honey.

If you have any questions or comments on the content, please let us know!

References

Davey GK, Spencer EA, Appleby PN, Allen NE, Knox KH, Key TJ. EPIC-Oxford: lifestyle characteristics and nutrient intakes in a cohort of 33 883 meat-eaters and 31 546 non-meat-eaters in the UK. Public Health Nutr. 2003;6(3):259-269. doi:10.1079/PHN2002430

Dewell A, Weidner G, Sumner MD, Chi CS, Ornish D. A very-low-fat vegan diet increases intake of protective dietary factors and decreases intake of pathogenic dietary factors. J Am Diet Assoc. 2008;108(2):347-356. doi:10.1016/j.jada.2007.10.044

Le LT, Sabaté J. Beyond meatless, the health effects of vegan diets: findings from the Adventist cohorts. Nutrients. 2014;6(6):2131-2147. Published 2014 May 27. doi:10.3390/nu6062131

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *