Can Vegans eat curry sauce? (recipe included)

In this article, we answer the following question: Can Vegans eat curry sauce? We give you an amazing and easy to follow vegan curry sauce recipe and talk briefly about what vegans eat and what they do not eat.

Can Vegans eat curry sauce?

Vegans can eat curry sauce that is made without meat, seafood, or other animal-by products. At a restaurant, it should be mentioned on the menu whether the curry sauce is vegan or ingredients such as butter, cream, milk, pieces of meat, or seafood were used. 

The vegan curry sauce is a perfect accompaniment to rice, pasta, vegetables and it is very soft and with a lot of flavors. Some people use coconut milk for the preparation so that the curry sauce for vegans is very creamy, but you can use any other type of milk, for example, oatmeal or rice milk. You can also add mushrooms and onion to give texture to the vegan curry and some raisins for a sweet touch.

How to prepare vegan curry sauce

To prepare vegan curry sauce, you will need the following ingredients:

  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 head of broccoli (without the stem)
  • 1 can of coconut milk (400 ml or 14 oz)
  • 1/2 cup of water (125 ml)
  • 1 tablespoon tamari or soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon tahini (or extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon of panela, coconut or brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon chili powder

Preparation:

  1. Chop all the vegetables and put them in a pan, wok, or pot along with the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Make sure you stir and cook over high heat until it reaches the boiling temperature. Then lower the heat to medium-high and cook the vegetables for about 10 or 15 minutes or until they are to your liking.
  3. Serve it with some white rice, raw red onion, fresh parsley, and lime.
  4. Keep the vegetable curry in the fridge in an airtight container for about 3 or 4 days.

Notes:

  • Use whatever vegetables you want or can find.
  • If you want, you can sautĂ© the vegetables in a little oil first, although I wouldn’t.
  • Instead of tamari or soy sauce, you can use salt to taste.
  • Use whatever sweetener, spice, chili.

Nutritional information:

Serving size: 1/6 of the recipe;

Calories: 220;

Sugar: 6.1 g;

Sodium: 223.4 mg;

Fat: 16.2 g;

Saturated fat: 12.8 g;

Carbohydrates: 18 g;

Fiber: 4.8 g;

Protein: 6.1 g

What do vegans eat and what do they not eat?

People who adopt this diet do not eat the meat of any kind, fish and seafood, dairy, eggs, honey, therefore they eliminate all products that are of animal origin or obtained by their exploitation. Vegans eat vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds, which usually come from organic farming.

Among the products included in their diet, we mention beans, lentils, seitan, butter obtained from various nuts (for example, macadamia butter), flax seeds, chia and hemp, tofu and other soy products, yeast flakes, coconut products (coconut oil, coconut butter), seaweed, sprouted seeds, cereals and pseudocereals (spelled, teff, amaranth, quinoa, rice), broccoli, cauliflower, vegetable oils, sweeteners such as agave syrups or of maple.

Trying to switch to a “vegan” diet [strictly vegetarian] does not mean choosing a salad of vegetables or fruit! To eat healthier, all you have to do is replace the tomato sauce with meat with the one with vegetables, from Mexican dishes – for example – to choose those with beans instead of those with beef, to enjoy soy milk or rice milk instead of cow’s milk and try all the wonderful products available that do not contain animal ingredients, that are organic and healthy.

Strictly delicious vegetarian menus can be prepared with dishes that can be found in any supermarket. And those of us who do not have the time or inclination to cook have at their disposal an increasing number of vegetarian dishes of convenience.

As they become more aware of what they eat and start trying new foods and recipes, many people discover that they have a more diverse diet after becoming vegetarians!

If you want to follow this lifestyle we can recommend a site where you can find everything you want: simpleveganblog.com

Conclusions

In this article, we answered the following question: Can Vegans eat curry sauce? We gave you an amazing and easy to follow vegan curry sauce recipe and talked briefly about what vegans eat and what they do not eat.

Remember that sometimes curry sauce is made with milk, so make sure you ask the restaurant or the cook if any dairy products were used when preparing it. If you decide to make your vegan curry sauce, you can use coconut milk or any other vegetable milk. You can also add mushrooms and onion to give texture to the vegan curry and some raisins for a sweet touch.

If you have any questions or comments on the content, please let us know!

References

Vegetariantimes.com

Vegetarian-nation.com

Mayoclinic.org

Hi, I am Charlotte, I love cooking and in my previous life, I was a chef. I bring some of my experience to the recipes on this hub and answer your food questions.